top of page
  • Gary Standley

Olga: St Petersburg, Russia

Updated: Jun 2, 2021

Hi My name is Olga and I am 22 years old from a town in the south of Russia. But throughout the autumn and winter of 2020 and 2021 I was living in St Petersburg in the north of our country on the river Neva.

It is a huge and vibrant City, and although there are many famous places which you may catch a glimpse of here, I wanted to show life behind the tourist route. The day to day life of someone living in a typical apartment on the outskirts of the City.




So my story begins here in my flat on the 6th floor in the Leningrad district - a bus ride from the City Centre and filled with apartments just like mine made up of a living room, bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. But what a view some days looking out.



The snow arrives around October and stays for the winter and some days the temperature goes to minus 24 degrees. Yes, you do feel the cold – and it wasn’t till March that I bought gloves – being fashion conscious I couldn’t find any that went with my clothes!


We were affected by the pandemic like everyone else. We were not restricted too much in what we could do though – so I celebrated Christmas from about November onwards with a tree in the apartment and visiting different Christmas venues with my sister and flatmate. Our Christmas is in January by the way.


I love walking round the area and taking photos from the bus as I travel around. It is a big City so it would take too long to get everywhere and photograph on foot.



I have been taking photos of the ordinary things – the streets, the shops and my life as I live it. If you have a view about Russia, well this will either confirm or challenge it, but my life like every young person is all about worrying about money, career, about relationships, having fun and buying clothes












Comments


bottom of page